MAY 12TH – International ME awareness day

13173807_1063535597037431_6925129787682905795_n
Hello, hope you are all okay and have been enjoying the sunshine! I apologize now, I was supposed to post this a few days ago but I’ve been quite poorly and have only just managed to do it, sorry!

 

For those of you who don’t know today, (May 12th) is international ME awareness day. May is also the awareness month for all invisible illnesses which I will talk about a little bit later in this post..



WHY IS INTERNATIONAL ME AWARENESS DAY SOO IMPORTANT?


This is very important to me because I have ME and we need to make people more aware about how horrible and debilitating this illness is. ME suffers from all around the world and their families and friends have been dedicating a lot of their time to fundraise, support, advocate and raise awareness of this cruel illness.

Last summer I raised money for the ME Association by hosting a worldwide pyjama party for everyone who could get involved. It was just a simple idea where all you had to do was wear your pyjamas for the day to help me raise money and awareness for ME. The total came to £145, not including separate donations from bigger organisations.

11208544_1585009515071414_400852429_n

Me and my fabulous helpers raising money and awareness for the ME Association.

If you are unsure about what ME is and how it can turn your whole world upside down then I already have a blog post ‘ What is ME/CFS?‘ where you can learn all about it just by just clicking on the link.

As I said at the start of my post I would explain a bit more about other invisible illnesses, remembering that the whole of May is international awareness month.

 

WHAT ARE INVISIBLE ILLNESSES? 

“BUT YOU LOOK SO GOOD”

Invisible illnesses are ones where you may look fine on the outside but the truth is you cannot see the suffering that they are going through. What might be easy for you to do can be very exhausting and cause a lot of pain for somebody else. Below are some examples of only a few invisible illnesses.

M.E, FIBROMYALGIA, EDS, DEPRESSION, CANCER, HMS, LUPUS, ARTHRITIS, MS, DIABETES, IBS, LIME DISEASE, ALZHEIMERS, DEMENTIA – AND MANY MORE.

 

I hope that you now understand more about why raising awareness is so important to us sufferers. There will be a lot of blog posts from other sufferers about international ME awareness day and May being the international awareness months for all other invisible/chronic illnesses if you want to check those out too.

Sorry my post isn’t detailed as much as I hoped but I hope you have all learn’t something about how important awareness is. I will be doing loads more posts about my life living with ME (and Fibromyalgia) if you want to subscribe for email updates.

Happy ME awareness day!

All my love,

Meg xox

Leave a Reply

