‘But you don’t look sick’

  JUST BECAUSE YOU DON’T LOOK SICK DOESN’T MEAN YOU’RE NOT SICK!

 

 ba179979407634c90c1eaac89de275fa

 

‘But you don’t look sick’ is a phrase that many of us with chronic illnesses hear on a regular basis whether that be from friends, family or people we work with. It’s bad enough having a chronic illness, let alone having to prove that we are sick.

People can be very quick to judge those  who they have only just seen or met and this is why it makes it so easy for someone to say to someone with a chronic illness ‘but you don’t look sick’ because sometimes they are right and we don’t look sick at all but behind all of our smiles and make-up it’s a different story. For all you know you might be saying this to someone who has cancer, fibromyalgia, M.E or chronic back pain. Just because you don’t look sick doesn’t mean you’re not sick!

You can look at people with chronic pain and sickness like myself and just presume that we are a happy, healthy and active person, but if you take the time to ask us what’s wrong then the outcome can be a totally different story.

9b7f5cda513a668acce6f4a9be489d0cAsk me how I feel and I may tell you about my constant nausea and sickness and the pain that I get every second of every day along with hypersensitivity to the slightest touch. Ask me about my weight and how I’ve put on 4 stone within 10 months and how it gets me down yet I’m to poorly to exercise. Ask me about how I’ve lost friends and family because they fail to understand and how I’ve missed out on education and work. Ask me about how tired and fatigued I am and about all of the medication I have to take. Ask me how many hours I have to spend sleeping in the daytime and how some days my body gets so exhausted and I cant stand or lift my head up off my pillow. Ask me what it’s like to not be able to leave the house some days because I’m too sick or how long it takes for me to recover after going out for a couple of hours.

I can’t sit and list everything but if you want to know more or ask any questions don’t hesitate to leave a comment at the bottom of this post or send me an email.

Please remember to not judge someone only on how they look because you never know what battles some people are facing and please remember that just just because someone may not look sick doesn’t mean they’re not sick!

8c345a9a424283819474ac74805ce783

Hope you have gained something from today’s blog post. I’m sorry it’s not very long, I’ve been too unwell to post. If you have any questions feel free to contact me. I hope you have a fabulous end to the weekend,

 All my love,

 Meg x

 

One thought on “‘But you don’t look sick’

Leave a Reply

