Invisible illness awareness week 2016

img_2618

This week, 26th-2nd of October is invisible illness awareness week. I and many others are sufferers of invisible illnesses and this week is about raising as much awareness as we can and to get the message across that YOU DON’T HAVE TO LOOK SICK TO BE SICK.

You see me in these photos, smiling, laughing and having a great time?…

 

but what you don’t see is all of the days spent in bed to fatigued to even sit up, all of the medication I have to take just so I can just about manage to function, all of the hospital visits, and the times I’m curled up in a ball crying from all the pain.

People like myself and others with invisible illness sometimes get pushed to the side and people don’t believe that we are ill just because they can’t see it from the outside. It’s different when someone has broken their leg because we can see it but for us invisible illness sufferers its different and can be very hard when people don’t believe that we’re sick.

I have M.E, Fibromyalgia and CRPS and all three of them are invisible (most of the time) and currently has no cure apart from learning coping strategies which I find a great help. When I do look sick and I can’t get out of bed because I’m too fatigued or in too much pain people don’t see that part as it’s impossible for me to get out which is another reason why us sufferers feel invisible.

 

So what are invisible illness?

There are so many different illnesses, these that I’ve listed are only a handful of illnesses that come under this category.

M.E, FIBROMYALGIA, CRPS, EDS, HYPERMOBILITY, CHRON’S, PTSD, DIABETES, ANXIETY, DEPRESSION, LYME DISEASE, MS, LUPUS, ARTHRITIS, CANCER, EPILEPSY, ALZHEIMERS, DEMENTIA, ASTHMA, ADHD and many more.

 

 

I hope that you’ve learnt about what are invisible illnesses. To help us to raise awareness on social media use the hashtag #INVISIBLEILLNESSWEEK2016

 

All my love,

Meg x

 

 

Leave a Reply

