New Year’s resolutions for 2017

Hello 2017!

I hope you’ve all had a fab Christmas and a great start to the New Year! For my first blog post of 2017 I have put together a blog post of my New years resolutions for 2017. Some of these are related to my life living with multiple chronic illnesses and my goals for the year ahead.

8a310cfa4dae862503baa8c58ef8b5db


My Personal New Years Resolutions and Goals for 2017


– Try to read a tiny bit each day even if all I can manage is a couple of sentences. (Since becoming ill I have struggled with     reading due to my poor concentration/ focus and memory problems). I have ordered myself an e-reader so I can’t wait for it to arrive so I can download some books to start reading!

– Still on the topics of reading and books I was recommended by a friend to read a book called ‘Yoga, My bed and M.E’. It’s a book written by someone who has M.E and has put together a book of yoga friendly poses and how it’s helped her cope with her illness. I have decided that this is something that I would like to try so I’m excited to start that! (I have added a link below to the book if any of you are interested and also a link to her website).

http://www.donnayogagirl.com/

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Yoga-Bed-M-E-Donna-Owens/dp/1537220462


– As many of you know I am a singer / songwriter and musician and since becoming ill I struggled to keep up with my musical abilities so I took up piano lessons again which I absolutely LOVE! Unfortunately the last few months I have been too unwell to have any lessons but I want to try and make it my goal to have at least one piano lesson every month. I do think it’s important though that if I am not well enough then my health has to come first.

13059729_1269256026422594_222738504_n

I love my piano lessons!

–  Learn to say ‘No’ and not feel pressured into doing anything that I’m not well enough to do. (I am the type of person who hates to let people down and will cave under pressure which is something I need to change as I have been caving into it soo much recently that my health has declined and it’s not fair for me to go through that but also unfair for those who have to look after me when I can’t do everyday tasks). I know this one is going to be very hard for me to do but my health is more important and it will mean if I rest now in the future I will be able to do more.

– Not feel guilty. This ties in with the last point in the sense that when I do say ‘No’ that I can’t do something I need to learn to not feel guilty for doing so. I cannot help that I’m ill and have to cancel plans. I am simply doing what’s best for me and my health.

– Have patience with myself, my illness and my symptoms. – This is a hard one, I’m not the most patient person in the world however I have had to learn to become more patient since getting ill. Having illnesses like M.E and Fibromyalgia they can be very unpredictable, you don’t know how you will feel from day to day and it’s hard to keep your patience when you find yourself having more bad days than good. Recovery for M.E is a slow process and it’s important I keep my patience even when things are going slowly and I’m struggling with my illness and symptoms.

– To allow myself to rest during an off day instead of worrying about all the things I ‘should do’ – I sometimes spend the time I’m resting worrying and getting stressed about the things that I could/ should be doing such as tidying up or visiting my family. Getting worried and stressed about it however means that I’m not actually allowing myself to get proper rest as my mind is very active. Stress can also have a negative impact on M.E and cause a worsening of symptoms. My New Years resolution this year is to let myself rest properly and not worry about the things I could/ should be doing. I have to think, if I can’t do something then I can’t do it and it will have to wait until I am physically able to.

4be0330d8569da6bc61992fed692dcce

 –  To try not to beat myself up when I can’t accomplish or do things that healthy people do. –   This is a hard one for me as I get very easily frustrated when I’m unable to do the things I want to do. My mind wants to do it but my body is just physically unable. I have to remember that it’s okay that I can’t do everything that healthy people do simply because I’m not healthy.

– Do less online shopping!! This is probably going to be one of my hardest resolutions aha. I am awful for doing huge amounts of online shopping! I am determined to save, save, save this year though so it will mainly be online shopping but without the buying part for me this year!

– Spend more time with my family. – This one is the most important to me, life is short and the time you have should be spent with your family. I’ve put this as a new years resolution because I’ve had my ups and downs over the last year with my family and after moving out of home 18 months ago I haven’t seen my family much at all and I miss them, a lot! My family means the world to me and I’m determined to make this a year filled with lots of happy memories.

15219661_1444456905569171_7350473343064615027_n

While making New Years resolutions can be a great way to try and change certain aspects in your life it’s also very important I think to not get too focused and sucked in as it can be hard (especially for those of us with chronic illnesses that can’t control how our illness affects us), because failure to accomplish these things can have a negative impact on our state of mind and can cause feelings of not being good enough and feeling like you’ve completely failed yourself. Let me assure you that the fact you tried to do these things is the most important thing! You set yourself goals and you tried your best to do them! Remember you have 365 days this year but you also will have another 365 next year to try again. You also don’t have to wait for the new year to set yourself resolutions, you can set them any day you like! Trust me, you deserve a gold medal just for having the determination to try these things!

I hope that 2017 brings you all health, love and happiness!

All my love and best wishes for the year ahead,

Meg x

Leave a Reply

